Design a site like this with
Get started

Know The Meaning Behind The Arcana Tarot Cards


If you are a believer of Tarot or a tarot aficionado, then meaning of Arcana Tarot Cards must have intrigued you. Each Arcana Tarot Card Meaning has a different story to tell owing to their different symbols and images. What are these images? What do they signify? It is important to know the two types of tarot cards. But, before that, let’s find out a bit more about the Tarot Cards, and why they are so significant!

What Are Tarot Cards?

Tarot cards resemble a playing card pack, and they are basically a Tarot deck of 78 cards where each of the cards has a story to tell, an image and a symbol. The two types of Tarot cards are Major and Minor Arcana cards.

The Major Arcana Tarot cards are 22 in number, and they are the symbol of the lessons related to spirituality & Karma and the 56 Minor Arcana cards depicts the struggle, experiences, and related aspects that we go through daily.

What Is The Importance Of Tarot Card Reading?

Tarot card reading is immensely beneficial as it allows us to see the wisdom lying inside us and show us the real side of our life. It also reflects our life story in one way or another.

Tarot cards are an awesome way to learn what needs to be done, and they provide much-needed motivation and inspiration to deliver our best. It shows us the best path and allows us to tap into our subconscious mind and intuitions. Tarot is an ideal medium to get guidance and unveil the answers to our queries.

List of Arcana Tarot cards

As stated above, the tarot cards are segregated into 22 Major Arcana Tarot cards and 56 Minor Arcana cards. Let us now know about each card in detail: 

Major Arcana Tarot Cards


These are the most popular tarot cards, and most of the people recognize them very quickly. Each of the cards carries a specific meaning, which give you the long-term perspective, and shows you a larger picture of your life. They depict the pillars & foundation of your life and throws light on the major events that are going to unfold in the coming future. They are 22 in number starting from 0, i.e. The Fool and ending at 21, i.e. The World. 

  • The Fool- It is considered to be the card of taking the leap of faith. It is the symbol of the fresh beginning and new hope. 
  • The Magician- This card depicts skilled and intelligent communication. The appearance of this card on the spread describes drive and passion for doing something big.
  • The High Priestess – It shows excellent judgment quality and very powerful intuition.
  • The Empress- It shows signs of a blissful family and a signal that joy, prosperity and abundance will usher in your life. 
  • The Emperor- It depicts power and leadership qualities. It also shows a solid structure.
  • The Hierophant- This card shows that you will be motivated to follow the rules and are inclined more towards spirituality. 
  • The Lovers- It shows the close relationships in your life, and you need to pay extra attention when this card shows up.
  • The Chariot- It depicts the upcoming triumph for you and shows your determination and passion.
  • Strength- It shows your bravery and courage. It depicts that you will be able to combat the challenges with your attitude.
  • The Hermit- It shows the solitude and cutting off from the regular hustle-bustle of life to focus on the important things about the future. 
  • Wheel of Fortune- It shows that you must learn the lessons from the current situation and nothing is constant in this life.
  • Justice- It depicts that you will face the consequences for your deeds. It says that Karma is the real thing and everything will be settled here only.
  • The Hanged Man- It shows that you should let go of the things that are not working. You will have to compromise and sacrifice some trivial things to make more significant gains.
  • Death- It confuses many people. It is not about the actual death, but it talks about ending and then the fresh beginnings.
  • Temperance- It promotes patience and peace and motivates you to go as per the flow of life. It also directs you to become a bit flexible.
  • The Devil- This card depicts that you do not have control over the situation, and you may feel trapped. It shows that you should be courageous to fight the odds against you.
  • The Tower- It is the most fearsome card in the entire tarot deck. It depicts havoc in your life, which can cause difficulties.
  • The Star- It is the symbol of healing and hope. It is an optimistic card and will inspire you to give your best.
  • The Moon- It is connected with your subconscious mind, and it represents your internal feelings, fears, doubts, etc.
  • The Sun- It is a very positive card and reflects that things will work well for you now. You will move in the right direction.
  • Judgment- This card shows your future and past together. You may have to review your actions & decisions and make sure that they are according to your future plans.
  • The World- It is the representative of success, fulfillment, and accomplishment. It also shows that you understand yourself very well.

Minor Arcana Tarot Cards

Minor Arcana Tarot Cards Meaning 

Minor Arcana Cards are the symbol of various struggles and trying times in your life that you tend to experience daily. These cards are the reflection of your day to day life and explain the effects of the same on you. They also tell you the steps you need to undertake to accomplish your goals.

The Minor Arcana cards are divided into four main suits of 14 cards each. These four main tarot card suits are as follows: –

  • The Suit of Pentacles- These depict your financial position, material aspects, and work-related issues. They also reflect your career aspects.
  • The Suit of Cups- They are the representative of your intuition power, feelings, creative insights & emotions. They depict your relationship with self & others.
  • The Suit of Wands- They are the symbol of your passion, motivation level & energy. These cards also depict your purpose of life, fresh ideas & spiritual power.
  • The Suit of Swords- They depict your actions, words & thought process. These cards show your decision-making power & communication skills as well.

Each of these suits comprises of 10 cards which are numbered and four court cards namely Knight, Page, King & Queen.

These Arcana cards are the foundation of Tarot card reading and it is important to know what they mean. So, get started to read the arcana tarot cards meaning!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: